Experience a significant part of U.S. history during a visit to the Old Courthouse, built between 1839 and 1862. The Courthouse is the site where an enslaved husband and wife, Dred and Harriet Scott, sued for their freedom, and Virginia Minor sued for a woman’s right to vote in 1872. Embrace history in restored courtrooms and view exhibits and murals depicting historic events. Special exhibits change on a regular basis, so there’s always something new to discover at the Old Courthouse, which is a two-block walk from the Gateway Arch.
Learn more on the National Park Service website.
The Museum Shop carries a wide selection of books, videos, apparel and educational toys, including a large selection of products related to St. Louis history, African-American history, and the Dred Scott case.
Year round: 8 am to 4:30 pm
Program Reservations: 877-982-1410