Gateway Arch Tram Rides Resume Operations
Journey to the Top tram rides at the Gateway Arch have re-opened to the public. The trams closed in late 2016 to replace the motor generator sets and improve the tram electrical system. Currently, the south tram is operating, while the north tram is undergoing the upgrade. Trams are expected to be at 100% capacity in the coming weeks.
“We are happy to welcome visitors back to the top of the Arch,” says Rhonda Schier, Chief, Museum Services and Interpretation, Jefferson National Expansion Memorial. “The Arch stands as a monument to exploration and adventure, and our visitors tell us that a tram ride to the top offers a multi-sensory adventure like nothing else that culminates in a sky-high view equal to none. The vast stretch of Illinois to the east, the city landmarks to the west, and the mighty Mississippi directly below are significant to regional history and the national story.”
IMPORTANT VISITOR INFORMATION:
Visitors must have a timed ticket to enter the monument. Journey to the Top tram ride tickets and Arch Entry-Only tickets are available to purchase at the Old Courthouse, by calling 877-982-1410 or online at www.gatewayarch.com/buytickets. Due to the likelihood that tram rides will sell out, is strongly recommended that visitors purchase their tram tickets in advance.
- Journey to the Top: Includes entrance to the Visitor Center, tram ride and Monument to the Dream documentary.
- Arch Entry-Only: Includes entrance to the Visitor Center and Monument to the Dream documentary.
The Arch is accessible only by foot via the Walnut Street Bridge, located at Memorial Drive and Walnut Street near the Old Cathedral; the Arch Grand Staircase, located on the Mississippi Riverfront; and the park’s North Gateway entrance at Laclede’s Landing. Visitors can enter the Arch via the North Leg at this time.
The Arch Store, located in the Visitor Center, is also open and sells a variety of Arch- and St. Louis-themed gifts, apparel, memorabilia and even homemade fudge.
The Old Courthouse is the Arch Ticketing & Visitor Center during construction and the start of guests’ Gateway Arch experience. It hosts free exhibit galleries focusing on early St. Louis, Lewis and Clark’s Corps of Discovery expedition, and the settlement of the Great Plains, as well as restored original courtrooms, and an exhibit gallery focused on Dred and Harriet Scott and their freedom suit.
Visitors can also explore the revitalized Gateway Arch park grounds, and enjoy more than five miles of new pedestrian pathways, a diverse mix of trees, and the North Gateway, a 7.5- acre park space that includes the Lewis & Clark Explorers’ Garden and a raised walkway featuring views of the Eads Bridge and Mississippi River.
PARKING AND ROAD CLOSURES REMINDER: A list of several downtown St. Louis parking locations within walking distance of the Old Courthouse and the Gateway Arch is available at http://getaroundstl.com. Metered street parking is also available in Downtown St. Louis. Visitors are encouraged to check www.gatewayarch.com/directions for up-to-date information on road detours and construction before their visit.
FOR MORE INFORMATION: Visit www.gatewayarch.com, www.nps.gov/jeff, or www.facebook.com/gatewayarchNPS; or call 877-982-1410. Reservations for free National Park Service interpretive programs and events at the Old Courthouse are not required, but large groups should call 314-655-1614 to alert the Old Courthouse of their attendance.
The Gateway Arch and the Old Courthouse are part of Jefferson National Expansion Memorial located on the riverfront in downtown St. Louis. The Gateway Arch, which features the Journey to the Top tram ride and the documentary film Monument to the Dream, is open daily during the winter from 9 am to 6 pm, and from 8 am to 10 pm Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day. The Old Courthouse, which features westward expansion exhibits, is open daily from 8 am to 5 pm in the winter, and from 7:30 am to 8 pm Memorial Day weekend through Labor Day. The park is closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas Day and New Year’s Day. The Old Courthouse is located at 11 North Fourth Street, St. Louis, MO 63102. Most programs are FREE of charge and open to the public. Programs and events at the park are made possible by the generous support from our cooperating association, Jefferson National Parks Association, and Bi-State Development. To purchase Arch tickets, go online to www.gatewayarch.com, call 877-982-1410, or visit the Arch Ticketing & Visitor Center at the Old Courthouse. NOTE: The Arch’s museum is currently closed for renovations.